Established in 1895, Robinson’s Bar is a place where you can take a step back in time. The famous ground floor Saloon contains original memorabilia from the Titanic; including the famous Philomena Doll recovered from the wreckage. Letters & postcards written onboard the iconic ship sit alongside 1st & 2nd class china used on all White Star Liners.
Wander around the Saloon taking in the history of the iconic ship, and imagine what was happening in these parts when she set sail on that fateful maiden voyage, on April 10th 1912.
Scroll through the images below and see what is on display in Robinson’s Saloon.
Memorabilia to see at Robinsons
He financially supported his grandmother, brother and sisters having lost both parents who died young and within months of each other. His badge, with the number 32, was recovered from his body
This printed card admission tickets was issued for the launch of Titanic, the second of the three sister ships, Olympic, Titanic and Britannic. The tickets have the White Star logo and the wording: “Launch of White Star Royal Mail Triple Screw Steamer Titanic at Belfast, Wednesday 31 May 1911 at 12.15pm.”
A young survivor of the Titanic sinking, 19-year-old John B Thayer Jr, presented this silver mug to Captain Rostron of the Carpathia.The inscription reads: “To Captain Rostron as a token of Grateful Appreciation of His Kindness on the Carpathia after the sinking of the Titanic April 15th 1912 from John B Thayer Jr.” Both John Jr and his mother survived but his father, John B Thayer, Second Vice President of the Pennsylvania Railway and one of the several millionaires on board Titanic, perished.
(2nd April ..Titanic Leaves Belfast) This menu was the property of Second Officer Charles Lightoller, the highest-ranking officer to survive the sinking. The postcard sized menu details the luncheon served on board Titanic on April 2nd 1912 and described such delicacies as Consommé Mirrette, Salmon and Golden Plover on toast. Second Officer Lightoller presented the menu to his wife as a souvenir before Titanic sailed from Southampton.
Philomena is reputed to have been found floating amongst wreckage in the aftermath of the disaster by one of the ships passing through the area some time later. The doll “surfaced” many years later in a church ballot in Belfast, having been in the donor’s family for some time.
This key, with brass identity tag, was in the possession of Samuel Ernest Henning, Lamp Trimmer on board Titanic, on the night of 14th April 1912. He was woken at midnight by the ship’s joiner and boatswain, to assist in the lowering of lifeboats. When the lifeboats were all away, Henning managed to lower himself into the water and was picked up by boat number 4, thereby surviving the disaster.
Produced in 1912 for use by First Class passengers, this monochrome publicity booklet, bound with coloured cord, allows a glimpse into some of the fabulous interiors of Titanic. White Star Line “Olympic” and “Titanic” Largest Steamers in the World. Bound with red ribbon, this publicity booklet was intended for use by First and Second Class passengers on both Olympic and Titanic and has 16 colour plates including a folding frontispiece of the dining salon. Also illustrated are the reading and writing room, smoke room, restaurant, main staircase, veranda café, Turkish Bath cooling room, swimming bath, a single berth stateroom and a number of second-class facilities including dining salon, promenade deck, library and stateroom.
It is believed that, of the sixteen wooden lifeboats aboard Titanic, thirteen were temporarily moored at the White Star Line piers in New York after the Carpathia docked and unloaded survivors and lifeboats. A New York City policeman removed this painted cast iron House Flag and nameplate from one of these lifeboats in 1912 and it was passed down through his family.
(Collection of Letters Available) This poignant letter was written by Richard Geddes, who was lost at sea, a steward on board the Titanic, to his wife, Sal. The letter begins, “My dearest Sal,” and describes the near miss Titanic had with the New York and what a trying time it must have been for the captain. He continued that, in his opinion, Titanic was going to be a good deal better than the Olympic. He had been “feeling pretty good” and hoped to write again from New York. He bade his wife a fond farewell, sending love and kisses to her and their children and signing off with the words “Your affectionate husband Dick xxxxx.”
This penknife was among the belongings found on the body of 2nd class passenger John W Gill when it was recovered after the sinking. He had been married only two months and was travelling ahead of his wife, Sarah, who was to follow later.
18 Ct Gold Watch
Three grateful 1st Class survivors of the sinking presented this gold pocket watch to Captain Rostron of RMS Carpathia, the only ship to pick up survivors. The watch, from Tiffany & Co. New York, has an enamelled monogram AHR on the reverse and the inside of the case is inscribed: “Presented to Captain Rostron with the heartfelt gratitude and appreciation of three survivors of the Titanic April 15th 1912. Mrs John B Thayer, Mrs John Jacob Aster Mrs George D Widener.”